Hi everyone,I'm a newbie here and I'm hoping someone can point me in the right direction.My Winnebago was working great all last year,I parked it for the winter and now that it's warming up I started it up, getting ready for the upcoming season.The first thing I noticed was the brakes hit the floor when I pressed them.I filled the mastercylinder with fluid and they're back up now,but when I try to put it into drive the lever won't budge.I know you have to press on the brake pedal to engage the transmission but I can't find a brake safety switch anywhere or a fuse that could be causing the problem.Any ideas?Help!

Views: 670

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Randy,

I would look at the shift linkage cable being frozen/stuck.  Disconnect it at the trans and work the lever on the trans by hand if it moves the problem is likely the cable/linkage.  Hope this helps, Tony, Joy and Cool Paw Luke

I agree with the other post, likely a stuck or jammed cable/linkage problem. Get underneath and have it chocked so it cant roll and see if you can get the shifters to move back n forth and/or if you can with cable/linkage removed at tranny.

If she ran out of brake fluid just re filling the master cylinders reservoir and bleeding the brakes isnt likely to fix the REAL problem which is likely a leaking rear wheel cylinder or front caliper. Look at all the wheels for evidence of brake fluid and you may find which rear wheel cylinder or front caliper leaked and get it fixed. If a rear cylinder leaked Id replace BOTH sides while at it. Its possible the master cylinder leaked but its more often a rear wheel cylinder in my experience.....

John T