oil dipstick tube is broken,can't tell the oil level, does anyone know the oil capacity on a77 Dodge 440?

Views: 14488

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

6 quarts in the pan and 1 in the filter.

thanks for the info, I had a mechanic replace my leaky exhaust manifolds with headers and he crimped the dipstick tube which then broke when I tried to check the oil, i've only had this rig about 6 months and this was my first oil change.

The Oil Capacity in my 74 is 8 Quarts with the big filter. I am a retired Mopar Tech and most of the Truck 440s would hold either 7, 8 , or 9 quarts depending on the oil pan. If the DRAIN PLUG IS AT THE FRONT OF THE ENGINE OIL PAN it will hold 8 max. That meens that your 440 is an INDUSTRIAL ENGINE, which 95% of truck chassis had in them. If the drain plug is in the rear, it holds 7 which means standard car motor. If you have an oil plug in the front and rear of the oil pan and the pan is arched, which is why they put  a plug in both ends so you can remove all oil during an oil  change, this is a HP motor, and depending on the body of car it was in would be the difference in the depth of the 2 different oil pans they installed. short held 7 and the deep held 9 quarts. Mopar didn't believe in waiste back then. They thought the more oil you had, the less chance you had to blowing stuff up. If you have any q's, feel free to respond to me.

Mike 

thanks for the info, do you think I can get a new dipstick tube from a Mopar dealer?