I am thinking of buying a 1969 Explorer Doge MH/RV and would like some advise on what I should look for/be most concerned about?   Thank you, Cher 

Views: 369

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Cher,

It might be an obvious answer, but break down your decision into the various categories. Write down the major repairs necessary in each category. Then, determine the frustration-level and cost to repair each necessary item.

CATEGORIES

1) Engine & Drivetrain. I'm not a mechanic, so I can't help you here. Have a mechanic-friend look over the engine, transmission & other components of the drive train, then drive the unit for 50-60 miles. Write down any necessary repairs.

2) Coach Systems. Pressure up the freshwater system, check for leaks. Examine operation of faucets, shower, toilet, etc. Check holding tanks for leaks and proper valve operation. Check the coach's electrical and charging system. Check for proper operation of the furnace and A/C unit, if equipped. Check operation of refrigerator, range, microwave and other kitchen appliances. Notate any necessary repairs.

3) Exterior. Check the roof inside and out for evidence of leaks. Check operation of windows and vents. Check for any glass which needs replacement. Check operation of the folding steps, if equipped. Check for stress cracks in the fiberglass -- usually occurring from the rear axle aft toward the rear bumper. Climb onto the roof and note any broken/missing vent pipes, vent shields. Note any deficienies for later consideration.

4) Suspension. Check that springs are unbroken and not sagging. Check levelers, shocks, and air suspension system, if equipped.

5) Consumables. Find the "date-code" on the tires and look it up on the internet, to learn the date of the tire's manufacture. (If more than 6 years old, they will need replaced.) Check engine belts, windshield washer reservoir condition (is the bottle busted?), etc.